Kazakh presidential candidates to participate in televised debate May 29

NUR-SULTAN – Kazakhstan’s presidential candidates will participate in an 80-minute televised debate May 29 on the Khabar national television channel, the Central Election Commission (CEC) announced May 24.

Photo credit: matritca.kz.

The election includes seven candidates, and each has been invited to the debate. The debate will include three rounds. The first round will focus on economic development and include two parts. In the first part, each candidate will present remarks on her or his campaign platform on a given topic for 1.5 minutes.

The second part of the economic round will be a question and answer session between candidates. Candidates can ask their opponents and they will be required to answer two questions. They can think about each question for 20 seconds and answer in 1.5 minutes.

The second round will focus on social modernisation and also include two parts. The first part will allow candidates to present remarks for 1.5 minutes. In the second part, the television presenter will ask one question of each candidate. They can think about their question for 20 seconds and answer in 1.5 minutes.

The third round’s theme will consist of the candidates answering questions from the public for 1.5 minutes each.

The order in which each candidate will answer questions during the debate will be established by a draw by Khabar. The candidates will then answer in reverse order during the next round of questions. Each candidate will be given equal time during each round, according to CEC rules.

If one of the seven candidates does not participate in the debate, her or his time will be distributed equally among the other participants, according to rules established by the CEC.

The election will be June 9 and the candidates are allowed to campaign until June 8. The candidates are Communist People’s Party candidate Zhambyl Akhmetbekov, Ak Zhol Democratic Party candidate Daniya Yespayeva, Ult Tagdyry movement’s candidate Amirzhan Kossanov, Auyl Party candidate Toleutai Rakhimbekov, Kazakhstan Trade Union Federation’s candidate Amangeldy Taspihov, Nur Otan Party’s candidate Kassym-Jomart Tokayev (current president of Kazakhstan) and Uly Dala Kyrandary national movement’s candidate Sadybek Tugel.

Get The Astana Times stories sent directly to you! Sign up via the website or subscribe to our Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Telegram, YouTube and Tiktok!