National Bank Issues New Commemorative, Anniversary Coins

ASTANA – The National Bank of Kazakhstan issued seven new coins on Aug. 7, the bank announced in a press release.


Two of the new coins put into circulation on Aug. 7. Image from the National Bank of Kazakhstan.

Four commemorative coins mark places: “Taikazan” is a new addition to the Treasures of the Steppe series, “Buran” joins the Space series and “Kyzylorda” and “Oral” join the Cities of Kazakhstan series. Two anniversary coins celebrate Kazakhstan’s constitution (“20 Years of Kazakhstan’s Constitution”) and the country’s Assembly of the People of Kazakhstan (“2015: Year of the Assembly of the People of Kazakhstan”). The bank also issued a second coin dedicated to the Year of the Assembly of the People of Kazakhstan (APK) as part of the Outstanding People and Events Series.

The four commemorative coins and the two anniversary coins each have a face value of 50 tenge (US$0.26). The APK coin of the Outstanding People and Events series has a face value of 500 tenge (US$2.66). Stores around the country are required to accept the coins for payment.

Six thousand of the Taikazan, Buran, 20 Years of Kazakhstan’s Constitution and 2015: Year of the APK coins have been specially packaged for sale to collectors in thermal vacuum packs, as have 1,000 of the Kyzylorda and Oral coins. Kyzylorda and Oral coins can also be purchased with other city coins in the Cities of Kazakhstan series packages.

In total, 100,000 Taikazan and Buran coins, 50,000 Kyzylorda and Oral coins, 500,000 50-tenge constitution and APK coins and 5,000 500-tenge APK coins will be put into circulation.
All coins are made at the mint of the National Bank of Kazakhstan.

Kazakhstan’s coins have earned international recognition, including Coin of the Year awards in 2010 and 2011 and several international awards in 2014.

Get The Astana Times stories sent directly to you! Sign up via the website or subscribe to our Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Telegram, YouTube and Tiktok!