Kazakh Senate ratifies border agreements with Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, and Kyrgyzstan

ASTANA – The Kazakh Senate ratified Oct. 25 the border agreement between Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan that determined the points of juncture on the countries’ border.

Photo credit: parlam.kz.

The agreement was signed in November in Samarkand with the participation of Kazakh Minister of Foreign Affairs Kairat Abdrakhmanov and his counterparts from Uzbekistan Abdulaziz Kamilov and Turkmenistan Rashid Meredov.

“In accordance with the document, Kazakhstan and Turkmenistan defined the Kazakh-Turkmen border line passing from the point of juncture to the first border point envisioned in the agreement between Kazakhstan and Turkmenistan on delimitation and demarcation of Kazakh-Turkmen border as of July 5, 2001. Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan determined the Kazakh-Uzbek border line passing from the point of juncture to the 125th border point stipulated in the Kazakh-Uzbek border agreement as of Nov. 16, 2001,” said Abrakhmanov presenting the bill to the members of the Senate.

The agreement can be considered a “historical document for Central Asia,” the Kazakh foreign minister said last year.

“In fact, this is a matter of responsible state building and security. I would like to note that all bilateral issues related to Kazakh-Turkmen and Kazakh-Uzbek border were fully settled in the beginning of the 2000s,” he said.

The Senate said in a press release the document will “facilitate the completion of an international legal formalisation of the state border of Kazakhstan, eliminate potential prerequisites for territorial issues at the point of juncture.”

During the plenary session, the deputies also endorsed the border agreement between Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan.

The agreement sets out the starting point at the point of juncture of borders between Kazakhstan, China and Kyrgyzstan, while the end point is at the juncture of border of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Uzbekistan.

The sides will review the demarcation of the border that stretches across 1,257 kilometres once each 10 years, and each country will control and manage its border signs.

The agreement is perpetual and cannot be denounced

Get The Astana Times stories sent directly to you! Sign up via the website or subscribe to our Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Telegram, YouTube and Tiktok!