Eurasian Intergovernmental Council agrees on member state digitisation programme, transportation policy

ASTANA –The Eurasian Intergovernmental Council (EIC), bringing together the heads of government of EAEU member states, signed agreements Oct. 25 in Yerevan advancing Eurasian Economic Union efforts to digitise member nations and formalise EAEU transportation policy for 2018-2020.

Photo credit:

Photo credit:

The council meeting was attended by the heads of government of Armenia, Belarus, Kyrgyzstan, Russia and Kazakh Prime Minister Bakytzhan Sagintayev.

The attendees signed documents eliminating exemptions and restrictions within the EAEU internal market for 2018-2019, establishing an accident investigation body, forming an information exchange system within the common electric power market and a draftdraft agreement on labelling goods by means of identification. The sides also chose the host countries for Eurasian Week exhibition fora in 2018-2020and signed instructions on a draft agreement on navigation.

They also discussed implementing the EAEU integration framework, advancing previous agreements and strengthening economic ties.

Sagintayev told the gathering he was concerned about the current transformation of international trade relations, a growing trend towards protectionism and increasing competition between the largest countries for building regional trade zones. He, therefore, urged the EAEU to adapt medium-term national policies to the new conditions.

He also said key policy documents to develop participating countries’ economies had been adopted but not implemented because those policies lacked supporting economic analysis.

On the sidelines of the meeting, Sagintayev met with Armenian President Serzh Sargsyan and other EAEU member country officials.

Get The Astana Times stories sent directly to you! Sign up via the website or subscribe to our Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Telegram, YouTube and Tiktok!