Astana Bids to Host EURO 2020

The Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) Executive Committee in late September approved the list of national associations that have expressed interest in hosting the final matches of EURO 2020.

The list includes Kazakhstan (Astana), Azerbaijan (Baku), England (London), Armenia (Yerevan), Belarus (Minsk), Belgium (Brussels), Bulgaria (Sofia), FYR Macedonia (Skopje), Hungary (Budapest), Germany (Munich), Greece (Athens), Denmark (Copenhagen), Israel (Jerusalem), Ireland (Dublin), Spain (Madrid, Barcelona, Bilbao, Valencia), Italy (Rome, Milan), the Netherlands (Amsterdam), Poland (Warsaw, Chorzów), Portugal (Lisbon, Porto), Russia (St. Petersburg), Romania (Bucharest), Serbia (Belgrade), Turkey (Istanbul), Ukraine (Kiev, Donetsk), Wales (Cardiff), Finland (Helsinki), France (Lyon), Croatia (Zagreb), Czech Republic (Prague), Switzerland (Basel), Sweden (Solna) and Scotland (Glasgow).

“We are proud of such high interest in the bidding process. More than a half of our national associations have bid to host EURO 2020 matches,” UEFA President Michel Platini said. “This final tournament will become a big football festival on a continental scale. The anniversary event to mark the 60th anniversary of the championship will be really special.”

The final list of cities will be approved on Sept. 25, 2014.

Get The Astana Times stories sent directly to you! Sign up via the website or subscribe to our Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Telegram, YouTube and Tiktok!